

70th Annual Red Grant Regatta

July 9-10, 2016

Organized by RARITAN YACHT CLUB, 160 Water St., Perth Amboy, NJ 08861

Benefits the Coast Guard Foundation

NOTICE OF RACE

RULES The Regatta will be governed by the "rules" as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing

("RRS"), including US Sailing Association Prescriptions thereto, applicable Class Association

Rules, PHRF-MA rules and regulations including crew limitations.

ELIGIBILITY Open to PHRF and one-design ("OD") classes. PHRF competitors must have valid 2016

PHRF-MA certificates. OD competitors must follow applicable class eligibility rules. A minimum of 5 boats is required for an OD start. Class and PHRF division splits will be posted prior to 2130 hours on Friday, July 8, 2016 on the official notice board on the Raritan

Yacht Club ("RYC") deck or on the Yacht Scoring website. Mayor's Cup (cruiser race) participants will be given a "courtesy" PHRF rating by their race committee if needed.

ENTRIES Eligible boats may enter by completing the online entry process on the Yacht Scoring website (http://www.yachtscoring.com/emenu.cfm?eID=1634) and paying all fees by:

• Friday, July 8 for PHRF and OD classes; and

• Saturday, July 9 for the Mayor's Cup cruising fleet event. (Note: the Mayor's Cup registration deadline is the start of the skipper's meeting.)

Additional late entries shall be considered at the discretion of the organizers.

ENTRY FEE The entry fee for PHRF and OD classes is \$150 and includes two tickets to the Saturday

night buffet dinner and other items. Additional buffet dinner tickets will be available for purchase on the Yacht Scoring website or from the regatta committee at check-in or the galley during dinner service. The entry fee for boats that are first time entrants or based 30

miles or more away is \$75. The Mayor's Cup (cruiser race) entry fee is \$50.

INSTRUCTIONS Final PHRF and OD sailing instructions will be available on the Yacht Scoring website no

later than 2100 hours Friday, July 8 and will be included in the skipper bag to be picked up during registration. Mayor's Cup sailing instructions will be provided during the Mayor's

Cup skipper's meeting.

SCORING The Low Point Scoring System will apply. Each boat series score shall be the total of her

race scores. There will be no throw outs. This amends RRS A2. One race will constitute

a regatta.

RACE AREA Races will be sailed in Raritan Bay. The approximate PHRF and OD starting area will be East

of Great Beds Light. The Mayor's Cup starting area will be in the area East of the RYC

mooring field.

COURSES PHRF and OD courses will be windward/leeward, or as described in the Sailing Instructions.

The Mayor's Cup course will be as determined by race committee and announced at the

skipper's meeting.

PRIZES

Awards will be given for the top three finishers in each class following racing on Sunday. Perpetual Awards honoring Red Grant, Joe Neiner, Art Zucker and Tony Leitner will also be awarded see the descriptions on the last page. The Mayor's Cup awards will be presented following racing on Sunday and will include the Mayor's Cup trophy and awards for the top 3 finishers.

LOGISTICS

RYC's hoist will be available for launching and hauling. Hoist access is limited at low tide. For free mooring reservations contact Al Rothschild (information below) no later than July 1. Moorings will be assigned on a first come, first served basis based upon boat specifications.

INSURANCE

Each boat shall hold adequate insurance including third-party liability insurance, and it is the owner's or owners' representative's sole and inescapable responsibility to ensure that the insurance is in place and is adequate prior to participating in this event.

WAIVER OF LIABILITY AND INJURY Competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. See RRS, Rule 4, Decision to Race. Sailing is an activity that has an inherent risk of damage and injury. RYC, Organizing Authority, Sponsors, Support Facilities, Volunteers, Agents, Employees, Service Providers, the PRO and Committee will not accept any liability for material damage, personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the Regatta for both on-the-water and on-land activities. By participating in this event, each competitor (owners, skippers and crews) agrees to release the race organizers and all persons and groups listed above from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

SCHEDULE

Friday, July 8

Daytime - Junior Regatta (organized separately)

1600-2000 – PHRF & OD registration and skipper's bag pickup

2130 - Posting of final PHRF & OD sailing instructions

2130 - Posting of division splits

Saturday, July 9

0830-0930 - PHRF & OD registration and skipper's bag pickup

1030 - PHRF & OD harbor gun

1130 - Mayor's Cup (cruiser race) skippers meeting & registration

1130 - PHRF & OD first warning signal

1200 - Mayor's Cup harbor gun

1300 - Mayor's Cup warning signal

After Sailing – Buffet dinner, live music on the deck at 1600 hours / KIDS AT PLAY at

1900 hours, and dancing

Sunday, July 10

1030 - PHRF & OD harbor gun

1130 – PHRF & OD first warning signal (No warning signal after 1500 hours)

After Sailing – Evening BBQ on the deck and regatta trophy presentation

INFORMATION

For further information, contact:

Al Rothschild – 732-238-6767 alanr999@aol.com

Paul Zajac – 201-787-9241 pzajac@themistrading.com

Forms and documents are available online on the Yacht Scoring website.

Perpetual Trophy List



Adolph "Red" Grant Trophy – Awarded to the overall winner in the most competitive

Class. This trophy, awarded annually honors our regatta founder Adolph "Red" Grant. Red was an avid Raritan YC Comet Sailor, who gave his life in defense of our country during the Second World War. Calculation: Awarded to the winner of the fleet with the lowest total delta between the final corrected times of the top 3 boats in each fleet of each race.

Joseph W. Neiner Memorial Award - Awarded to best performance in a one design class in the Junior Regatta. The award honors Past Commodore, Joseph W. Neiner and is being presented for the 18th year.

The Arthur Zucker Memorial Trophy Awarded to the winner of the largest one
Design Class. The award is presented for the 25th year,
honors the regatta's founder, PC Arthur Zucker.

The Tony Leitner Sportsmanship Award - Presented by nomination to the competitor or volunteer that best displays the aspects of sportsmanship over the duration of the regatta.

This trophy, presented for the 17th year, honors PC Anthony "Doc" Leitner who has been involved with Red Grant since its inception.

<u>The Mayor's Cup</u> – Awarded to the top cruising sailor of Saturday's "Cruising for a

Cause" race. This trophy, presented for the 17th year, shares in the community spirit of the Red Grant Regatta. This trophy will be awarded by Perth Amboy's Mayor, Wilda Diaz.